4 Comments

I have a couple of answers!

Slow down by cancelling some plans. Feign illness, blame it on work, whatever you have to do! Just stay home and stare at the yard or the wall for a bit. Maybe cook something delicious!

My favorite outfit right now is the VIKI linen dress from EgitaLinen on Etsy. Amazing quality and fit. I wish I could get several of them and wear them every day in this heat.

Expand full comment

I've only ever bought used cars, even our Chevy Bolt EV! (And we once sold a used car that actually belonged to an old lady who mostly drove it to church, Rafael's mom!)

Slowing down is tough ... I say no to more and more events these days, which started during covid, but I feel kind of bad about doing it. Haven't quite figured this one out except to get older and work fewer hours, which I'm doing now.

As for the future, it's hard to imagine what it will hold or to hold out much hope for it. Here's my answer to that: https://flowerchild.substack.com/p/what-to-do-with-fear

Expand full comment

Some thoughts

Autumn is my birthday ( October) college football, ( Virginia Tech ) and it’s for some reason my “New Year” rather than in January. My Autumn dreams/plans are to better balance time for me with the responsibility of coordinating care for my 92 year old Father, connect and reconnect with friends, and focus on moving my body more.

I’d like to learn how to weave. I love going to art shows and seeing the beautiful woven pieces.

Unless you have long distance travel plans I always look for a used car. I ask friends who might be getting rid of one and I look for people who have an elderly parent who can’t drive anymore and needs to give up their car. ( the veritable little old lady car).Also people who have a company car that gets turned in every few years are a great idea because they have to be maintained well. I have had good luck with buying used cars! Want so help ?

Not sure how you begin a process of writing a book about your adventures but I would buy it if you did !

Expand full comment